I’m Drowning in a Sea of Fee Waivers

Ok, not literally… but it’s starting to feel that way! I signed up for the Candidate Referral Service through LSAC a few months ago hoping I might get a couple of fee waivers to schools that I might want to attend.  I had no idea what I was getting into apparently!  So far I’ve received roughly 70 fee waivers through email and at least a dozen postcards/brochures through the mail from schools soliciting my application.  I’m not sure whether to be flattered or annoyed by the constant flow of mail!

If anyone is thinking of signing up for this service I would offer this advice:  Ask yourself what your plans are for school.  If you have the ability to apply to schools all over the country then go for it.  You will get plenty of offers to apply for free.  However, if you have a very short list of schools you are interested in I wouldn’t recommend it.  I got fee waivers from all 3 of my top schools, but not from the CRS.  Two came from attending the schools’ open houses and the other was sent after my LSAT scores came out but before I completed my application.

I do have to say though, that it is kind of a nice ego boost to open my email to half a dozen letters begging me to apply.  Makes me feel like a hot commodity! HA!  So if you need your ego stroked it is effective for that! Especially when you get one from a top 50 or top 20 school. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

